

EVESHAM TOWN COUNCIL



MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE TOWN COUNCIL AND MAYOR MAKING CEREMONY HELD ON MONDAY 15TH MAY 2023 AT EVESHAM TOWN HALL AT 7.00PM

Those present:

Chairman: Cllr A. Booth (Town Mayor)

Vice Chairman: Cllr S. Schaathun (Deputy Mayor)

Councillors: Cllrs M. Goodge, R. Raphael, Mrs S. Amor, P. Boyd, J. Clatworthy, A. Dyke,

Mrs J. Tucker, Mrs C. Smith, N. Deacon, Mrs J. Haines, T. Haines, B.

Kimberley, S. Brotherton, J. Campbell-Muir, C. Gailey, Mrs T. Gailey, Mrs

M. Griffiths, Mrs H. Kelleher, Mrs C. Kimberley, Ms A. Lyon, Mrs E.

Nishigaki and P. Scurfield

Officers: Mrs J. Adams (Town Clerk)

Mrs K. Cullen (Officer) Ms J. Sparrow (Officer)

Macebearers: Mr G. Lyon and Mr P. Speed

Also present were 128 invited dignitaries, guests and members of the public.

1. Apologies for Absence

There were no apologies for absence.

2. Declarations of pecuniary or other interests (if any)

No declarations were made.

3. Presentation of the Civic Award

The Town Mayor Cllr M. Goodge presented a Civic Award to Mr Mick Hurst in recognition of his role as lead organiser and inspiration behind the Battle of Evesham Festival and its supporting events, the Artisan Christmas Fayre and the Spring Medieval Market.

4. Announcements by the Town Mayor

The Town Mayor reflected on his past year of office and thanked those who had supported him, fellow councillors, council staff and role-holders as well as his Mayoress, Mrs Emma Goodge. The year had been an unexpected challenge, including the Platinum Jubilee, the death of the Queen, the accession of King Charles III, and the King's Coronation.

5. Acknowledgement to the Town Mayor

Cllr R. Raphael moved a vote of thanks in respect of the past year's service of the Town Mayor which was seconded by Cllr Mrs J. Tucker.

6. Election of the Town Mayor for 2023/24

It was moved by Cllr R. Raphael and seconded by Cllr J. Clatworthy that Cllr A. Booth be elected as Town Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. There being no further nominations, it was resolved that Cllr Booth serve as Town Mayor for the municipal year 2023/24.

7. Declaration of Acceptance of Office by the Town Mayor

The Town Mayor made his declaration of acceptance of office which was attested by the Town Clerk.

8. Address by the Town Mayor

The Town Mayor addressed the Council and guests in response to his election. He thanked his fellow councillors for electing him.

He noted his wish to work towards moving the town forwards and meeting the challenges facing all towns and cities in the current times. He spoke of his pride in Evesham and its people, and his vision to return Evesham to a being a thriving market town once more.

Finally the Town Mayor thanked all the assembled dignitaries, councillors and guests for their attendance and their support. He invited those present to join him in the Valkyrie for refreshments following the meeting.

9. Appointments by the Town Mayor

- a) Mayoress
- b) Chaplain
- c) Macebearers

The Town Mayor appointed his Cllr Chrissy Smith as his Mayoress. The Town Mayor appointed the Reverend Caroline Green as his Chaplain, Mr Phillip Speed, Mr Glen Lyon and Mr Gary Hale as his Macebearers and Mr John Raphael as his Town Crier.

10. Election of Deputy Mayor

It was moved by Cllr A. Dyke and seconded by Cllr R. Raphael that Cllr .S Schaathun be Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. There being no further nominations, it was resolved that Cllr Schaathun be elected and serve as Deputy Town Mayor for the municipal year 2023/24.

11. Declaration of Acceptance of Office by the Deputy Town Mayor

The Deputy Town Mayor made her declaration of acceptance of office which was attested by the Town Clerk.

12. Dates of Times of Meetings

It was resolved that the Council meet during the municipal year on the second Monday every month at 6.30pm in the Council Chamber, Evesham Town Hall, with the exception of August when the Council is in recess, December and May when the Annual Council Meeting (Mayor Making) commences at 7.00pm.

13. Adjournment

The Town Mayor adjourned the meeting until 6.30pm on Monday 22nd May for the consideration of other business to be listed on a separate agenda.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 8.05pm.

CLLR A. BOOTH TOWN MAYOR